Unfocused Issues

Past Imperfect – #439

sr-1439

As dawn broke across the land, Anthony tried to prepare himself for another workday in corporate America. But it all seemed so useless, devoid of meaning, and he just didn’t have the strength to even pick up his cup of morning coffee. Then, surprisingly, the coffee decided to change the agenda.

Coffee: “Dude, what’s your deal?”

Anthony: “I don’t have a deal. I’m just tired. I’m tired of working my ass off, I’m tired of bosses that don’t care, and I’m tired of other people taking credit for the things that I do.”

Coffee: “Really? Did you ever stop to consider that you actually have a job when so many people don’t?”

Anthony, contemplating: “Well, I suppose you have a point. I make decent money and I have health insurance and I get six weeks of vacation because I’ve been with this company since dirt was invented.”

Coffee: “See? Silver lining. It’s not so bad. Let’s buck it up and go out there and do the best that we can.”

Anthony, on the verge of an epiphany: “You know, I could keep smiling and signing my paychecks. I’ve made it this far, right?”

Coffee: “That’s the spirit!”

Anthony, veering away from the epiphany: “On the other hand, I could also do this.” Then he kicked the coffee cup over and went back to feeling sorry for himself.

On the other side of the two-way mirror, the leader of the focus group smiled and turned toward the other participants. “And it looks like we have another potential voter who doesn’t understand that it’s not always about him. Let’s send his profile to the Republican Party.”

 

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

